India vs Australia Test Series

India vs Australia test series, A nerve-wracking test series is just to begin: what to expect?

After a never-ending entertainment of limited-over cricket, it is time for some white-ball cricket for the Indian team and fans. The excitement is even bigger because of the rival coming to India for this exciting test series, Australia. It is not only a test for Australia to show their guts and come out victorious in this huge examination on Indian pitches, but it is also a test for the Indian test team to go for the glory of qualifying for the World Test Championship. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is all set to begin on 9th February, when both teams will be playing 4 test matches. The series initiative was taken way back in 1996/97. Both teams have played 15 editions of this trophy. Australia has been able to win 5 times, whereas India has come out winners 9 times.

This winning domination from India shows that they have been giants in the home series against Australia. So, the Australian team would love to break this domination by winning this trophy and stamping their authority to play the final of the ICC Test Championship. However, it is also a great opportunity for the Indian team to qualify for the final, if they beat Australia in this series. Currently, India is placed at the number 2 spot in the ICC World Test Championship list of teams. In terms of the highest scorers for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Tendulkar is at the number one spot with 3630 runs, and Ricky Ponting is at the number two spot with 2555 runs. The most wickets have been taken by India’s Anil Kumble with 111 wickets with 10 fiver-wicket hauls. Nathan Lyon is chasing Kumble’s record as he has taken 94 wickets so far.

Rohit Sharma has been appointed the captain of the Indian Test Team in India vs Australia test series, and it will be a huge test of his captaincy as well as stamina. If the Indian team is able to win this trophy under his captaincy, they will do it for the 4th consecutive year, and also book a spot for World Test Championship, likely to be played against Australia. So, this test series is going to provide a nerve-wracking cricket with one of the two best teams in the world. India has so many advantages over Australia in this home series, especially the turning tracks with the spinners like Ashwin. It will be a huge test for Australian batting line up to stand up to the occasion and face the music of spin bowling to take this triumph.


Team India Team Australia
Player Role Player Role
Rohit Sharma (c) Top order Batter Pat Cummins (c) Bowler
KL Rahul (vc) Opening Batter Steven Smith (vc) Middle order Batter
Ravichandran Ashwin Bowling Allrounder Ashton Agar Bowler
Srikar Bharat † Wicketkeeper Batter Scott Boland Bowler
Ishan Kishan † Wicketkeeper Batter Alex Carey † Wicketkeeper Batter
Shreyas Iyer Top order Batter Cameron Green Batting Allrounder
Ravindra Jadeja Allrounder Peter Handscomb Batter
Virat Kohli Top order Batter Josh Hazlewood Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler Travis Head Middle order Batter
Mohammed Shami Bowler Usman Khawaja Top order Batter
Mohammed Siraj Bowler Marnus Labuschagne Batting Allrounder
Axar Patel Bowling Allrounder Nathan Lyon Bowler
Cheteshwar Pujara Top order Batter Lance Morris Bowler
Shubman Gill Opening Batter Todd Murphy Bowler
Jaydev Unadkat Bowler Matt Renshaw Batter
Suryakumar Yadav Batter Mitchell Starc Bowler
Mitchell Swepson Bowler
David Warner Opening Batter

Test Series Schedule

Match Venue Date Time
1st Test India vs Australia Nagpur Cricket Stadium 09-13 Feb 2023 04:00 GMT
2nd Test India vs Australia Delhi Cricket Stadium 17-21 Feb 2023 04:00 GMT
3rd Test India vs Australia Dharamsala Cricket Stadium 01-05 Mar 2023 04:00 GMT
4th Test India vs Australia Ahmedabad Cricket Stadium 09-13 Mar 2023 04:00 GMT

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *